Home > Movies, Ported Reviews > “Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix” Movie Review

“Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix” Movie Review

Hey, Frayed Wire readers! This is a review Josh made on his old site, but is now being moved here! This review was written when the movie was still in theaters.

I’m not going to give an in-depth plot summary of Harry Potter 5, since most people already know what happens in it. I’ll get right to the point to tell you how the movie was.

Good. But not as good as the book. Maybe it’s just because I remember the 5th book more than any of the other ones. That’s not only because I read it more than once, but also because it was the first Harry Potter book that I started reading the first day or two that it was out. Anyway, the people I went with to see it thought it was great – better than Ratatouille and Transformers, according to them. I don’t know if I quite agree with them. All three of those movies were excellent, but they left me feeling kind of unsatisfied, for a number of reasons.

The unsatisfying part about Harry Potter 5 was how so much was cut out of the book. For example, nothing is mentioned about Harry’s Quidditch ban, or how Ron joins the team. And Hagrid’s story about the giants is WAY too short. Sure, if the movie had all of the book packed into it, it would be 4-5 hours long, but so what? People would still watch it, just like they watched the 4 hour extended version of Lord of the Rings 3.

Of course, I do have to remember that even Lord of the Rings 3 had a shortened theater edition. Will Harry Potter 5 have an extended version on DVD? None of the other movies have one, but maybe the directors have been making extended editions of these movies all along, waiting until every last film is on DVD before they suddenly release the extended versions. Those dirty animals, making me buy the same movie twice!!

In the end, you’re probably going to end up seeing this movie whether you want to or not, so I can’t really tell you to avoid it. Although, I wouldn’t say to avoid it at all – definitely make sure you see it. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a great story, and a great movie. But it’s even greater as a book.

Final Score: 7.5 out of 10

By Josh60502

  1. December 29, 2013 at 6:16 am

    It’s truly very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television, thus I only use world wide web for
    that purpose, and obtain the most up-to-date information.

  2. July 16, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff
    from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just book mark this page.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

