Home > Gaming, Xbox 360 > Going Retro

Going Retro

I don’t know why, but lately I’ve been intrigued by old arcade classics such as Galaga, Dig Dug, and Pac-Man. Maybe I’ve just come to appreciate their simplicity and addicting difficulty. You see, I went to the Kalahari waterpark last weekend (again, yes) and when I wasn’t bumping into random people in the Lazy River or being spun down the Pro-Bowl like a skinny white turd, I was playing Namco Museum for the GBA.

So when I got back, I browsed the Xbox Live Marketplace to see what kinds of retro games it has. I saw all the predictable stuff – that is, the bare bones versions of all the arcade games I played on that GBA pak. And then my eyes fell upon Pac-Man: Championship Edition. After playing the three minute demo, I have to say I was quite impressed. The neon graphics and unique spin on the classic gameplay was fresh and exciting, so I might very well be giving that a purchase in the near future.

pacmance.jpg

Doom, the granddaddy of the modern FPS also caught my attention. While it may not be nearly as good as the shooters in this day and age, it’s such an important part of video game history, I really think I should give it a look. It’s price was also cut in half recently, so that’s a big plus.

If I bought $20 worth of Microsoft Points, I’d spend $10 on Pac-Man C.E. and $5 on Doom, but then what? I’m torn between Geometry Wars and Smash T.V. What should I do? Perhaps Smash T.V., seeing as that has some wonderful Co-Op…

But what do you guys think?

By Josh60502

  1. March 26, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Geometry Wars is fucking great, but Smash T.V. is good as well. So think about this, when people come over, will people want to play Smash? Because it’ll get stale all by itself, not unlike Guitar Hero.

  2. March 26, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Also, reminds me of me, see: MAME Cabinet, and all the older games playing like System Shock 2 (if you ever get the chance, try it).

  3. March 26, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Smash T.V. is definitely better with people over, and will fit in with my “retro” addiction. Geometry Wars may be fun, but it isn’t particularly deep and there’s no multiplayer at all. So, I guess I just decided.

    By the way, how has that MAME cabinet of yours been going?

  4. March 26, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    It’s at a stand still, because we really only can work on it in warm weather. Most of the stuff we have to do has to be outside 😛

  5. March 26, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Also, I’m considering coding my own game, or at least a ROM hack to change Mario Bros. or Metal Slug or something.

    Not only, have I gone retro..

    if $addiction = “coding”
    {
    tell Josh
    }

    Yeah, coding addiction.

  6. Matt
    March 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    doom isn’t the granddaddy of the modern shooter, wolfenstein3D is NOOB

  7. March 27, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Matt is right, actually. : P I had forgotten, I haven’t played Wolfenstein in forever.

  8. March 27, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I forgot about Wolfenstein… but Doom is influential nonetheless.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

