Home > Gaming, Ported Reviews > JustMattPwn3r’s Top 13 Games

JustMattPwn3r’s Top 13 Games

I was reading BurningBaboon’s top games and he brought up some very good games. Since he can beat me at most games, I must have more games in my list for my sense of accomplishment. I have some small guidelines for my list: It can’t have been on BurnB’s list and I have to have played the game. Let’s start the countdown!

13: Rock Band

This game didn’t make the list because of the not having the awesome Create a Rocker mode. I played the half-assed ps2 version. It was just the songs, but with the awesome group dynamic, it won over Guitar Hero 3. If you’ve got a PS2 and mound of cash laying around, it’ll liven up any party with amazing songs and perfect levels of difficulty.

12: Halo 3

Don’t PMS all over my face fanboys, I don’t own a 360 and therefore have had limited play time with this game. I’ve done a couple of campaign missions, including the end which I don’t get, and lots of online multiplayer. However, you know a game’s good when you can have fun pissing off the other people with teabags and nonstop laughter during games.

11: Tetris DS

The name says it all – it’s Tetris, my favorite puzzle game hands down. Tetris DS is like a throwback to the classic NES games that started Nintendo’s orgy of awesomeness. It had appearances from Donkey Kong, Mario, Samus, Link and others that became Nintendo mainstays. It has online play which is a plus and some creative takes on a game that defines classic.

10: Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones

This game is amazing. It’s an amazing turn based strategy RPG with an OK story, but I’m willing to look past that for the addicting gameplay. It’s always satisfying when your characters completely pwn the other army’s faces off. I liked this better that the original Fire Emblem on the GBA because this one allowed you to take your time between story missions and power up your team for more pwnage!

9: Wario Ware: Smooth Moves

If you want a game that’ll keep your attention for years to come, this game isn’t for you. If you want a game that’ll use the Wiimote in inventive ways, run to the store and buy it. You’ll be doing something new every minute. With all the forms, (ways you hold the remote) it can seem intimidating, but it’s handled very well. Also a good party game, since only one remote is needed for multiplayer.

8: Super Mario Sunshine

This game, I think more than the Wii, shows Nintendo’s ability to take risks. They broke away from the traditional platforming Mario game. It wasn’t that great of a risk, but enough to show that their balls dropped. Something else worth mentioning, the graphics. This was one of the earliest Gamecube games released and it still looks better than half of the cheap 3rd party Wii games out now.

7: Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories

This game made it in because I didn’t like KH1 so much and BurnB took the second one. It’s a semi spin-off that helps fill some holes left if you just played the PS2 titles. It has a deep story for a handheld and an interesting real-time, card-based battle system. It would’ve placed higher on my list if Kingdom Hearts 2: Final Mix ever came, but whatever. (KH2:FM was going to have an extended KH2 and Chain of Memories on the PS2.)

6: Metroid Prime 3: Coruption

This game has what I look for in a good game. A deep story, good action, just hard enough puzzles, and fresh gameplay. I haven’t played a lot of it, but what I have played is amazing. This game also rides the line between deep enough for hardcore gamers and accessible enough for n00bs. If you think this game’s all kiddy because it’s Nintendo, I will come to your house and rape your brains out. [Ed’s Note: Sheesh!]

5: Mario Pary games before 8

Why not 8? It’s boring! The other ones had features that made it feel fresh. Every couple months I have an itch to play minigames and collect stars. These are the games I play. I have the original and number four, but I’ve rented the others and my non-gaming sister and I can have a blast unlocking all the minigames. When ever I hear nostalga, these games are the ones I think of.

4: Assorted Virtual Console Games

While typing this list, there were multiple VC games that I thought deserved a spot, but right as I was about to type them, I thought of a better game. Not the case here, the ones I mean are Super C, Mario 3, Mario World, River City Ransom, and lots more. Being only in 8th grade, I was born at the end of the 16-bit age and completely bypassed the 8-bit era, but the VC allows me to experience these amazing eras in gaming.

3: Super Smash Brothers Melee

I don’t mean to belittle Brawl, but I must follow the rules. Brawl improved on this game in many ways, but this game still has its place in history of the game that saved the Gamecube from being sexually abused by the ps2. It blew my mind how much better it was than the original with better stages, more modes, a butt load of characters, and trophies. If this game was never released, Brawl never would’ve seen the light of day.

2: Super Mario Galaxy

I what you’re thinking: “How predictable.” If you’ve played it I don’t need to say anything. If you haven’t played it, you should commit suicide. Everyone must play this possibly genre-saving game. People say that platformers have all been going downhill since Super Mario 64, but with more games like this, we could be seeing the rebirth of gaming’s oldest and most treasured genre.

1: Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

I’m a guy that buys games more often than food. I play them for 5-10 hours and I’m done with them. Not the case with TP. I played for about 2 or 3 weeks on the main quest, and another 2 or 3 finding all there is to find. I played the GC version, but from what I hear, the Wii version makes good use of the remote without overusing it. That’s a big task, but Nintendo made the system so they should know what they’re doing.

*Games are in semi-order. I did this all at the computer without writing the order out so don’t hold me to these positions.*

By JustMattPwn3r

Categories: Gaming, Ported Reviews
  1. May 2, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Dang. Now I should probably make a list.

  2. BurningBaboon
    May 2, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    My list sort of butt sexed yours. (nah, good list)

  3. matt potter
    May 2, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    thanks for fixing it up

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

