Home > Gaming, Reviews, Virtual Console, Wii > “Mega Man 2” Wii Virtual Console Review

“Mega Man 2” Wii Virtual Console Review

I was visiting a certain Nintendo-related blog a couple weeks ago and came across an offer – be the first to ask them a question to be answered on their podcast and win a free 500 point Virtual Console/WiiWare game. Seeing the post had been posted just hours before, I gave it a shot and sent in a couple of questions. Lo and behold, I ended up being the only one that sent in any questions, and as a result, I got my digital copy of Mega Man 2 to review for all of you today.

I chose Mega Man 2 mainly because it is considered a masterpiece and timeless classic… or something like that. I’m not sure everyone agrees on that the way everyone would agree that Ocarina of Time or Half-Life 2 is classic, but whatever. If anything, it’s got to be good right? And it is. Mega Man 2 is one of the best ways to spend 500 Wii points. It’s a very solid game for 5 dollars, but is it a classic? Eehhh….

Let’s start with the story: The evil Dr. Wily has made some robots and you have to kill them.

Powerful.

Then again, not very many NES games had a very good story, and back then the plot wasn’t very important for a game. Okay, okay, I can let this slide then.

But right after you choose your difficulty at the title screen, the mediocrity ends when you’re treated to some rather good music on the stage selection screen. The first eight stages can be played in any order, and that’s a big plus. If you ever get frustrated with one level, you can just move on to another and return to the challenging stage later. But this brings me a big point of the review – you won’t have to keep coming back to levels to try them over and over because these first levels are actually really easy. Most games from the 8-bit era were extremely hard. And after having such a hard time with the Mega Man 9 demo on the Xbox Live Arcade, I honestly thought I would be challenged to no end with this game. Just the opposite, really. After my very first 45-minute gameplay session, I had knocked off about 5 or 6 of the first eight levels. My first time! However, I should note that out of the two available difficulty settings – normal and difficult – I chose the easier one, and that probably has a lot to do with it.

Let me now move on to how the levels actually are. Each stage has a boss at the end of it, and depending on what the boss is, so the stage will follow suit. Metal Man’s level takes place in what seems to be a factory, Wood Man lives in a forest area, and the road to Quick Man is loaded with instant-kill devices that you have only a split-second to dodge. After you defeat each boss you get to use their trademark weapon in all subsequent levels. However, some are much more effective than others. Each boss is particularly weak to one specific weapon, but when I’m traversing a normal level, which gun do you think I’ll choose – the bubble shooter or the gun that can shoot freakin’ saw blades in any direction?

All the 8 levels are pretty fun… with the exception of a few tedious screens within a couple of them. And once you beat all eight of these levels, which already provide much more depth than most NES games ever did, you begin a new series of levels. These new levels, which lead up to the final confrontation with Dr. Wily, can only be played in a certain order, and they are noticeably harder than the first eigth stages. But the flip side to that is that the game will last longer since they take longer to beat.

The great part about Mega Man 2 is that everything can be beaten. Being released in an age where most NES games where arcade-ports featuring inhuman challenges meant to steal all your quarters, Mega Man 2 stands out by providing a fun challenge and being completely beatable. You might be able to beat some (or most, in my case) of the first eight levels your first try, but the later ones do provide a challenge. They’re challenging not because of some cheap, underhanded, “whoops, game over – now put some more money in” kind of challenge, but because the levels are actually designed well. Whenever I died, I didn’t feel like the game ripped me off – I felt like I made a mistake, and I was compelled to try again so that I could get past that part. That’s the foundation of Mega Man 2‘s fun – levels that are designed so well, you want to play them over again right after you lose.

I mentioned it before, but I’ll say it again. The music is great. Mega Man 2 is one of those handfull of NES games that features timeless and memorable music, right alongside Super Mario Bros, Legend of Zelda, Castlevania, and the others. Graphically, it’s one of the most varied and detailed NES games around.

Mega Man 2 is one of the best ways to spend 500 Wii Points. It’s small share of flaws prevents me from calling it a classic, but classic or not, Mega Man 2 is worth a look for those searching for a good game on the Wii.

Pros: A manageable and fun challenge due to great level design, good graphics for a NES game, great soundtrack, fun side-scrolling gameplay

Cons: The first eight levels are too easy, the weapons are not balanced very well, bare-bones plot

Final Score: 8.8 out of 10

By Josh60502

  1. October 30, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I’ve never really been a fan of Mega Man. I just don’t like the characters or the style of fighting. I guess I have to give it credit, though; it’s been around for about 20 years.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

