Home > Gaming, Internet, Movies, Music, PC Games, Polls, Site News, Xbox 360 > Catching Up With Things…

Catching Up With Things…

Whew… things are still a bit slow around here, unfortunately. Even though this whole week has been school-free, I still haven’t been able to really sit down and get things written for Frayed Wire all that much. But there are reasons!

First, it’s thanksgiving week, and I don’t know about you, but for me that means visiting with all the family for a few days. So that I did.

Second, it was my birthday yesterday. Yeah! Got some CD’s, money, a couple movies, and an electric guitar. I spent some of the money already on Call of Duty: World at War, which so far has been pretty good. Seems a lot like Call of Duty 4, but seeing as I never owned Call of Duty 4 myself, World at War wasn’t a bad purchase. The CD’s I got were Appetite for Destruction by Guns ‘n Roses (a classic, according to many), Monsters and Robots by Buckethead (very cool guitar bits – and also very weird overall), and Powerage by AC/DC (haven’t listened to it yet, but AC/DC is a great band, and I’ve heard good things about the album). With some of the remaining money I’m thinking of buying one CD in particular – Appeal to Reason by Rise Against. There’s a song on there called “Re-Education” which is amazing, especially when played loudly.

I also want to buy Left 4 Dead, but having just gotten Call of Duty: World at War, I might wait a little while for that. I was debating with myself what system to get Left 4 Dead for – PC or Xbox 360, but I’ve decided that I’ll get it for the Xbox 360. While the online community for the PC version with undoubtedly be better than the online community of the Xbox 360 version, getting games, especially online games, to run on my PC can be a pain. Whenever I want to play a PC game’s online multiplayer, I have to fiddle with settings on the computer and restart the whole thing every time, and even after the computer takes its sweet time starting up and the game opens, there’s always a chance that it won’t find any servers or some other thing like that, and I have to restart the game. And in the game itself, I just prefer gamepad controls over the mouse and keyboard. PC isn’t all bad, though, because in the case of Valve games, there’s always a huge fanbase playing all of their games at any given moment. With the Xbox 360 Left 4 Dead, I kind of wonder how many people will still be playing it online (and yes, online is the only way to go with that game) in a year or two. Plus, there don’t seem to be that many maps and campaign levels in the retail version of either version of the game, but in the PC version someone always figures out a way to mod it so that you can play the game in the levels of other Source-engine powered games. Even when just the demo was out, I saw videos on YouTube of people playing Left 4 Dead on Team Fortress 2 and Half-Life 2 maps. In short, the longevity of the PC version will be greater than that of the Xbox 360 version of the game, but with the PC version being so hard to set up, the convenience of playing the game on a system where I don’t need to worry about my mic not working 95% of time, the frames per second rate being about 2, or sub-par controls makes the Xbox 360 version a better purchase despite the potential short life span.

In other PC gaming news with Josh… apart from finally playing through Half-Life 2: Episode One in a matter of days, I downloaded GameTap the other week and tried out the original Fallout. The graphics and gameplay show their age, and while it was kind of interesting to see what everybody always raves about, I doubt I’ll be playing through the whole thing. Right now I’m at a point where I’m at some village and apparently need to rid the inhabitants of some giant mutated scorpions. I had saved at that moment and exited the game, but when I clicked “exit” the computer screen went black on me and I couldn’t do anything. This issue, of course, came after the blackout of the main menu screen at the beginning when I first tried the game. Ugh… this is why I don’t buy games for the PC. Yes, I did figure out what my problem was (I needed to update some graphics driver or something… for a game that came out over 10 years ago!? How is it that I can play Half-Life 2 just fine?) but in reality I haven’t actually tried the game again since then, so I’m not sure that is the solution.

The poll that’s up right now about the post size and frequency and stuff will be up for another week, making its life a total of 4 weeks. Please answer it if you haven’t already!

While it may appear to the average Frayed Wire reader that I haven’t done anything for the site lately, that’s not true. You see, in a comment a while ago I said “I myself will try to write a music review or two soon.” That wasn’t an empty statement. I have a huge music review already written out, put I can’t post it until something else explaining how Frayed Wire will be reviewing music is posted. Hopefully that will be coming soon.

So there you have it, one big post that said a whole lot of something and a whole lot of nothing at the same time.

By Josh60502

  1. December 3, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Wow! Talk about a bunch of writing!

    Anyway, Happy Birthday! So, World At War is basically like COD4? I wasn’t going to get it anyway because I’m sick of all the WWII shooters.

    As for Left 4 Dead, unless you have a lot of friends who own the game, I wouldn’t suggest getting it. It’s fun with co-op and versus mode; but alone it’s lacking. You can read my review on my blog if you want to hear a little bit more about what I think.

    Anyway, hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

    -Oddball

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

