Home > Uncategorized > My Top 25 Favorite Songs of All Time

My Top 25 Favorite Songs of All Time

This post has been in my head for almost a month and I’m finally sitting down to do it. Let’s get one thing out of the way: This Is NOT a List. It’s merely a grouping. If I had to rank these songs, I might have to kill myself. The numbering is merely so that I chose exactly 20 songs. One rule is that I’m only doing one per artist, just to make it a little tougher on myself. Lets do this. ( A quick note, music is one of the most personal things in the world. What I like the best may not be your cup of tea. Another thing, my preference of music largely depends on mood and what I’m listening to at the time, so if I wrote this list 3 weeks ago, some of the songs may not even be mentioned.)

1) Aerosmith, Jaded: A song instantly recognizable when it comes on shuffle with a great opening riff and pretty sweet drum beat. with the distinctive unclean Aerosmith guitar sound. The vocals in this song have a nice delivery to them. I can’t really describe it, but I just like the way they come out of the singer’s mouth. I love this song so much, I actually have it on my Ipod twice!

2) The All American Rejects, Dirty Little Secret: Another song that opens with a sweet guitar riff and drum beat. The other main contender from this band was Gives You Hell, but that one has hardly any guitar and I’m a hard rocking dude so I needs me some guitar, not just one lame solo in the middle. Anyway DLS has some nice vocals you can sing along to very easily and have fun doing it.

3) Boston, Foreplay/Long Time: Aw yeah we’re kickin’ out the jams now. This is probably the longest song on the list, yet it has just as much awesomeness per minute as the others. While I think the Foreplay intro is just a little too long, I don’t mind it because I’m thinking “It’s coming” and that is the brief opening solo of Long Time. One thing I like about any Boston song is the poetry of the lyrics and that holds way true in Long Time. Another small thing I like is a small acoustic bridge they have before the chorus is at the end switched to electric.

4) A Change of Pace, Weekend Warriors: If you’ve never heard of this song or band, that’s OK. They’re not too big but that doesn’t mean they can’t make an awesome song about hanging out on the weekend. It’s pretty hard rock, with a little pop for good measure. If  the song was just the first 10 seconds played over and over, I wouldn’t mind. It’s just an awesome riff and great vocals. If you have a car and you’re going for a night on the town, crank this song to get you in the mood. Believe me, it works.

5) The Classic Crime, God and Drugs: The first somber song on the list. It uses a nice, simple few notes in the background to set the tone of a song about a drug addict finding his way back to God. I don’t like much christian music, but this song brings me into a state of holiness. I’m not going to go religious on you, but the somber tone does leave and the song gets a little more hard rocking, but the tone of the earlier portion is still in it.

6) Flo Rida, Right Round: No, it’s not a joke or a typo I like this rap song. One thing I don’t like is how it never says, on Itunes I mean, who the girl in it is. What a jerk move. Anyway, one of my favorite things is merely the delivery speed of the lyrics. With the beat in the background that one person could do by themselves with clapping and their mouth, the two are in sharp, but enjoyed, contrast.

7) Flyleaf, All Around Me: This song is great. It has interesting parts for all parts of the power trio and the vocals are pretty cool. It even has a religious undertone. I bet you could’ve figured that out by yourself, not really making it an undertone. This is what I call a “rain song,” meaning you listen to it when you’re out in the rain. That may only make sense to me, but that’s OK cause I’m awesome and not a narcissist.

8)Forever the Sickest Kids, Whoa Oh!(Me vs. Everyone): Whew, that’s a mouthful. This is a song similar to Weekend Warriors and I like it for much the same reasons. If you’re a site regular, you should know my fanism of these guys. This was a pretty tough choice, with equal opportunity for Coffee Break, Phone Call, and Indiana to get the spot on the list, but this one because of the girl at the end of the first verse. It makes me lol every time.

9)Guns N’ Roses, Sweet Child O’ Mine: If I ever learn to play the guitar, which I hope to some day, I would be happy only knowing the opening to this song. Having a nice poetry to the lyrics which is rare for a group like this to have in their songs is a refreshing change of pace. This song also sound like 2 separate songs. If you’ve heard it, you’ll know what I mean.

10)Hinder, Lips of an Angel: I like this song, but what the heck does it mean by lips of an angel? Does it mean tempting or are they as beautiful as an angel’s lips? Whatever that doesn’t really matter when the song is this sweet. It’s like they couldn’t decide if they wanted to be hard or soft rock, so they just did both, with verses being soft and choruses are hard.

11)Led Zepplin, Immigrant Song: ‘Nuff said. Fine I’ll tell you about it. How many other songs has Jack Black begged for? I’m not making it up, for School of Rock he begged for the license to play the song for 30 seconds and they got it. With a nice galloping riff constant in it and some screaming for basically no reason, what isn’t to like about it?

12)LinkinPark, Bleed It Out: Let me just ask one thing: is it just me or does the guitar in this song’s opening sound like Sweet Child O’ Mine’s? Whatever. This has Linkin Park’s signature blend of rap and rock, with a pretty even mix. Let me just warn you before you go making a CD of it, the first verse drops a few F-bombs and has some negative references like suicide. I deem it not mini-van friendly.

13)Metro Station, Kelsey: This is one of the black sheep of this list. It sounds like it’s about 20 years too late, but I don’t care one bit, the 80s were awesome, not that I would know :(. It’s a pretty sappy song, but I don’t know why, I just can’t listen to it enough. If you’re a pianist and you learn to play this, you are officially on my list of awesomeness, possibly beating out Chuck Norris.

14)Paramore,CrushCrushCrush: One of the toughest choices on the list, I had to go with this one over Decode, Pressure, and Misery Business reluctantly. This band was one of the main reasons I implemented the one per band limit. Their songs all have a similar sound, but that sound is completely awesome so that made it very tough. I chose the one I did because of the drums. They have a great drummer, but he really gets going in this one.

15) R.E.M., Losing My Region: With the signature R.E.M. guitar sound and vocals in place, they just set up this song to be awesome with confusing lyrics that make little sense. Listening to it right now, trying to discern what they mean makes it even more confusing than it already had to be. It was tough to chose between this and Orange Crush, but that one made less sense, if possible so I went with this one.

16)The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Face Down: Let’s get one thing out of the way, I don’t like the song because of the subject matter, which is an abusive relationship. I like it because of the semi-screamoness of it and the guitar, how it’s not meant to be what you mainly listen to, but it just happens to form that way. It’s pretty great.

17)Relient K, High of 75: From the therapeuticacoustic intro to the “makes you smile” lyrics, I’m sure this song was written just to make people feel happy. It’s about a guy who’s feeling sad because the weather, but then a girlfriend or, you could interprit it as God, makes his heavy heart light. I like the speed at which the vocals are delivered. I sound stupid saying that, but it’s just a little touch to make this song pretty dang sweet.

18)Simple Plan, Take My Hand: For a while I thought these guys had pulled a Duke Nukem and disappeared, but when I first heard this song I’m very glad they didn’t. Sure their early stuff wasn’t that bad, but it was just generic pop. This song has a more rock vibe, while not abandoning their pop routes. The two best things of this song are the guitar and the “hey hey” shouts.

19)Switchfoot, This is Your Life: It sounds very different that other Switchfoot with a synthesizer intro, it soon turns into their standard acoustic, vocals, and light drums sound. The synth doesn’t completely leave though which is sort of nice to have a little reoccurring theme throughout the song. It also makes you think. Before yous say ew, it’s a kind of thinking that’ll better where you are in life.

20)Thriving Ivory, Twilight: One of the few bands that still use a piano, not a keyboard, and makes it sound awesome. You may think that this singer has something wrong with him, but I like his sickly voice. It starts out sounding like it’ll be a sad song, but by the chorus it gets a little more joyful than at the beginning. The subtle guitar in it is one of the things I like outside the sickly frontman.

21)Van Halen, Jamie’s Cryin’: This song has about most simple bass line in all of music. It’s just do-do over and over again and that makes it awesome. It also some of the simpler work of Eddie Van Halen, which is still pretty amazing sounding to anyone outside Hendrix, Slash, and Eric Clapton. Again, I don’t like this song because of the subject matter, which is also an abusive relationship, I think.

22)We the Kings, Check Yes Juliet: This song doesn’t instantly strike you as a great song, but as you listen to it, you can hear the levels to it. It’s like Kelsey, as in it’s a pretty cheesey love song, but I don’t mind. The synthesizer going up and down during the chorus is pretty cool. The main guitar riff is one of the best things of the song.

23)The Who, I Can See for Miles: It’s one of The Who’s biggest hits, do I really need to say anything? Regardless I’m going to. I like the alternation between guitar and vocals during verses and the one note guitar part for the chorus. This was another tough choice with Going Mobile, Won’t Get Fooled Again, Baba O’Riley, Pinball Wizard, and Love Reign O’er Me. That’d mean roughly 20% of the list would be from one band without the rule.

24)ZZ Top, Sharp Dressed Man: This is what I call a montage song. You can put it on when you want to pretend like you’re in a montage. However, the montage would have to be of you putting on some nice clothes. It has the two standards of a ZZTop song, girls and some sweet guitar action. This guitar action is much less subdued than in something like La Grange and that makes almost better in a way.

25)3Oh!3, Don’t Trust Me: Let’s get one thing out of the way, this song is vulgar enough to make your grandmother faint. It’s pretty standard pop with a slight rap flavor to it. That flavor draws me to it. I have no idea why I like this song so much. Maybe it’s that pop music isn’t as openly vulgar as this and I find it refreshing that someone has the balls to do it.

By JustMattPwn3r

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

