Home > Gaming, PC Games, Playstation 3, Site News, Smash Bros, Wii, Xbox 360 > Frayed Wire’s 2008 Game of the Year Awards

Frayed Wire’s 2008 Game of the Year Awards

So here it is… finally. The Frayed Wire 2008 game of the year picks according to the authors and the readers. We’ll each give you a first choice and a runner-up (well, for most of us), but in the results of the huge poll we ran several weeks ago, all 11 of the ranks will be given.

Josh60502: Grand Theft Auto IV

gta4

It wasn’t perfect, but Grand Theft Auto IV has changed the way I think of how much content can be packed into one tiny disk. This truly massive game provides more than enough depth to last a frequent player through the entire year. Police chases through Liberty City never play out the same way, and the variety and number of missions is astounding. The multiplayer matchmaking was flawed, but there’s no denying how fun a good online Free Mode match can be when you get it set up right.

Runner-Up: Super Smash Bros. Brawl

For me, this game failed to live up its massive hype, but it’s still without a doubt one of the best Wii games out there, and the local multiplayer rivals that of Rock Band. Every character is so much fun to play as, and the fan service is phenomenal.

_________________________________________

JustMattPwn3r: Spore

spore

Spore is one of the games that comes out every few years that’s truly a new idea in all of the industry. It pushes the perception of how modern games could be made and played. If you look at each phase, they’re extremely basic versions of the genre they’re a part of. However when you add in the complex, yet completely five year-old accessible, and the overarching concept that even the greatest things once started out at the bottom of the food chain. It’s a lot deeper than it first looks and keeps getting that way the more you play and think about it. It’s seems that 2008 was the year of creation, with many games having great creation tools, like LittleBigPlanet, Far Cry 2, and even Brawl. However, Spore tops all of them. Don’t get all mad at me, but when you can truly create any creature or vehicle that comes into your mind and it working, that’s completely going to big in a large community. If you search what some people have made, and yes you’ll have the mandatory penis creations, you’ll find things that inspire creations within yourself. To create a more realistic representation of a real thing, to make a Pokemon look better than another, to create something more outlandish and pointless, whatever even subconsciously it inspires you.

Runner-Up: Super Smash Bros. Brawl

I don’t really have a runner up, but if I had to pick I’d say Brawl. It’s a good progression in one of Nintendo’s major franchises. I predict the next Super Samsh Bros. game will be on the DS. Or maybe I just want that… either way it’s going to be awesome.

_________________________________________

BurningBaboon: Super Smash Bros. Brawl

supersmashbrosbrawl

My favorite game of all of 2008 was without a doubt, Super Smash Bros. Brawl, since it is my favorite game ever. I had so much hype for this game and everything was delivered so well in this masterpiece. Sure the online was laggy and it had friend codes, but I think local multiplayer is more suited for this game anyway. 35 characters 40-some stages, this game kept me hooked for a long time, and I still enjoy picking it up now and then.

Runner-Up: Professor Layton and the Curious Village

If I were to choose a runner-up for 2008, I don’t think it’d be too hard, considering not many great games came out. Professor Layton and the Curious Village. This game had an interesting story and kept me up to the Wii(rather DS) hours of the night, 5am once if I recall.

_________________________________________

JoeWillBeatJohn: Offline: Metal Gear Solid 4 – Online: LittleBigPlanet

pictures

Metal Gear Solid 4: The single-player in this game was amazing. Not only because of the great storyline (though some might consider this more of a movie than a game…), but also the realistic graphics which give the player that they are old man Snake, the detailed customization of the weapons (what other game lets you have an M4 custom with a laser sight, flashlight, suppressor, ACOG scope, grip, and shotgun attachment?), and great replay value.

LittleBigPlanet: Even though my online experience with LittleBigPlanet was laggy due to my slow internet, the interaction possible with other players was incredible. Being able to see the unique creations of friends and strangers online (LittleDeadSpace, anyone?), as well as publish your own levels, gave players a unique experience.

_________________________________________

Tamama: Undecided

2008 had lots of good games for me.. but nothing too special. All the games I bought in 2008 kept me entertained for what? 2 or 3 weeks? But still, I’ll name a few that I liked the most.

No More Heroes
Now I heard so-so things about this game but I picked it up anyway. I’m a sucker for things by Suda 51 and man, I loved this…. Until TF2 updated again :)

Left 4 Dead
Man, when the demo was out for this I went CRAZY. I played the shit outta those 2 sections of No Mercy for days. Full game comes around and I stay up till 5am playing. Now though I can hardly make it through one scenario.

LittleBigPlanet
Hooooooly crap, I waited till midnight for this one. I played it for AGES, then realized I failed so much at creating anything and now it’s on the shelf and only comes out at parties.

Fallout 3
Okay so I acquired this maybe 2 to 3 weeks before it was due out, I played the crap out of it, completed it and was satisfied. Really epic game, but I can’t bring myself to play it again and instead wasted my time by ruining the story for everyone else when it came out :)

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Had me hyped, good game all the way through and a seriously intense end to boot, but I can’t shake the feeling it was more cutscene than game.

Well that’s it really, you probably noticed I’m pretty picky with games/have a short attention span. But it’s TF2 making me ditch every game and come back for more :)

_________________________________________

The Readers: Fallout 3

fallout3

The massive turn-out in the number of poll answers was no accident (listen to our podcasts if you want to know why), so I can’t say all the people who voted on our Game of the Year poll were Frayed Wire readers, but they were all, I’m sure, gamers. For that, we can respect their choice of Fallout 3, the massive adventure-RPG through post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. (I would say more, but I haven’t actually played the game myself).

Runner-Up: Super Smash Bros. Brawl

Just barely edging its way past Metal Gear Solid 4 in the final days of the voting, the ever-so-popular Wii fighting game claimed the second highest honor in our awards.

3rd Place: Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

4th Place: Call of Duty: World at War

5th Place: Grand Theft Auto IV and Left 4 Dead

6th Place: World of Goo, Gears of War 2, and Mario Kart Wii

7th Place: Fable II

8th Place: LittleBigPlanet, Madden NFL 09, and Spore

9th Place: Braid and Burnout Paradise

10th Place: Dead Space

11th Place (all the “Other” answers): Professor Layton and the Curious Village, Prince of Persia, Valkyria Chronicles, Saints Row 2, World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King, Crysis Warhead, Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning, and Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Vegas 2

_________________________________________

I know it’s practically time to start thinking about the 2009 game of the year awards… but we’re glad we’ve been able to get this posted, and we hope you’re glad too. Thanks for reading!

  1. April 4, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Josh,
    Yeah, there is a lot to do in GTA4, and they do have a ton of missions, but I wouldn’t say the game is the game of the year. For one, it gets old driving around the city and you have a lot of pressure form your friends on the game to keep hanging out with them. It was a good game, but not the best this year.

    I would agree with you however that Brawl didn’t live up to the hype, but it still was awesome (had horrible multiplayer though).

  2. April 12, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Yeah, I had a tough time choosing my pick for game of the year. GTA4 was kind of half-heartedly chosen, as nothing stood out too much for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

