Home > Gaming, Internet, Xbox 360 > My Top 5 Favorite Parts of Microsoft’s E3 09 Press Conference

My Top 5 Favorite Parts of Microsoft’s E3 09 Press Conference

I just finished watching Microsoft’s E3 press conference live on G4, and I have to say I walked away impressed. Part of me wants to run through every game and bit of news mentioned in the presentation, but doing so would mean that I would need to do the same for the other press conferences in order to be fair. Chances are I wouldn’t want to, and then you as the readers would be left with only Microsoft impressions and little else, leaving Frayed Wire’s E3 coverage skewed and incomplete.

It’s because of this that I have to decided to take a more personal note in this and future E3 2009 posts. After all, that’s what blogs are for, right? To provide a personal look at the author. If you want in-depth E3 coverage, watch G4 TV like I’ll be doing the next few days, or go to a gaming website such as IGN and read everything they have to say.

The way Frayed Wire will be talking about the important things that go on in the press conferences will be me, Josh60502, giving a top 5 list of what I enjoyed most from the presentation. Here are my impressions of Microsoft’s show:

#5. Left 4 Dead 2 Trailer


I was totally surprised and caught off guard by this. The first Left 4 Dead came out only a year ago, so the fact that Valve is already working on a sequel is not what I expected to hear. Seriously, what happened to Half Life 2: Episode 3? But still, the trailer appeared to show a more cartoony look to L4D2 than what was in the original, though the excessive blood and gore shows that the cartoony look is certainly not to make the game more kid friendly.

#4. Metal Gear Solid Coming to the Xbox 360

The Playstation is losing exclusives by the year, and finally one of the biggest Sony franchises has made the jump. Now I’ll admit that this is somewhat low on the list, but that’s only because I really don’t know much about the MGS series. If I had played one of them, maybe this would be higher up, but I do know that everyone I know who has played Metal Gear Solid 4 says it is incredible. This move has placed the Xbox 360 farther past the PS3 in this generation’s console wars.

#3. Facebook and Twitter Expanding Xbox Live’s Social Capabilities

Those addicted to social networking sites Facebook and Twitter are going to love this: Xbox Live users will soon be able to access Facebook and Twitter from their Xbox 360’s. I can see this feature drawing in many people to try their family member’s 360 that would normally not do so, just to see how this will work.

#2. Modern Warfare 2 Gameplay and Xbox 360 Exclusive Maps

This looks to be the biggest blockbuster game release of the year, and the amazing gameplay footage was made even greater by the announcement that the Xbox 360 version of the game is going to have two exclusive maps at launch. I’m really getting excited for this one.

#1. Project Natal

The star of the press conference and most likely the whole show was Project Natal, the codename for Microsoft’s controller-free technology. The tech demos shown included a Breakout type of game with the player using their full body as the paddle, a painting application, a video showing possibilities for the tech, and an incredibly impressive video surrounding a digital character that players could talk and interact with… all without a controller of any sort. Maybe I’m just being overly optimistic, but this stuff looks amazing. After learning about Project Natal, games like Modern Warfare 2 and Final Fantasy XIII looked boring, with restrictive controls and caveman technology. Seriously. I find it hard to believe that any other company will unveil something in their press conferences that tops what Microsoft has created.

By Josh60502

Categories: Gaming, Internet, Xbox 360
  1. June 2, 2009 at 10:17 am

    “After learning about Project Natal, games like Modern Warfare 2 and Final Fantasy XIII looked boring, with restrictive controls and caveman technology. ”

    Unless of course Project Natal is a trend that big companies like Square and Activision aren’t necessarily going to buy into. The only reason I’d be particularly excited about this right now is if you could use Project Natal to PLAY Final Fantasy XIII and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Why? Because Final Fantasy and Call of Duty are rich games. They’re where the action’s at. They are something worth experiencing.

    Without gameplay, innovation is nothing. I guess at this point there are not many types games I can see myself playing on Project Natal that could completely replace Final Fantasy, Call of Duty, or Zelda. I find the idea a little absurd.

    • June 2, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Just a thought.

  2. June 2, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    You have a good point Jake, but I think the future possibilities for Project Natal are endless. It may seem gimmicky at this point, but I found it exciting to see such incredible technology being put to use in game design, and can only imagine what a Final Fantasy or Call of Duty would be like if it used Project Natal.

    • June 2, 2009 at 5:39 pm

      I kind of see your point, only the possibilities are not endless.

      Project Natal is essentially Nintendo’s WiiMotionPlus and Sony’s Eye, only without buttons. And, as Sony pointed at E3, there are some things you simply can’t do without buttons. That’s why the original Eye failed.

      Which, by the way, doesn’t Sony’s new Eye do essentially what WiiMotionPlus does (capture movement in three dimensions)? Seems like the only difference is Sony’s product requires a camera to operate. So, technically, it’s less advanced. I think that’s pretty funny, especially since they worked so hard to promote it at E3.

  3. June 3, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Unlike Nintendo’s WiiMotionPlus and Sony’s Eye, Project Natal uses voice and facial recognition, and tracks movement of multiple people without any wand controllers. The Eye did catch me a little off guard because of how surprisingly accurate it is, but in the end it still feels a little like a rip-off of the Wii (although it’s already doing motion control better than the Wii), whereas Project Natal is more original.

    I think the beauty of Project Natal is that you can really use anything as your controller. It might be possible to play a shooting game with your bare hands, but some people might pick up a supersoaker or a pillow, or whatever, and use that just to hold on to something. There’s no need for buttons, because it can sense your finger moving in a button-pressing way.

    Either way, I think we can both agree that Nintendo is falling far behind in the motion control wars.

    • June 3, 2009 at 3:10 pm

      Not really. Nintendo announced WiiMotionPlus ages ago. And, like I said, it essentially does what the Eye does: tracks motions more accurately and in three dimensions. See:

      At it’s full potential, it’s just as effective as what Sony showed at E3.

      Besides, everything you saw in the Project Natal trailer was pretty much faked. Didn’t you see the disclaimer? It’s a neat idea, but I’ll be much more impressed when I see it all in action. I’d really hesitate before saying that Microsoft is ACTUALLY ahead of Nintendo, or even Sony quite yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

