Home > Gaming, Nintendo DS, Uncategorized, Wii > My Top 5 Favorite Parts of Nintendo’s E3 09 Press Conference

My Top 5 Favorite Parts of Nintendo’s E3 09 Press Conference

Nintendo’s press conference was the one I was looking forward to the most, but not the one I expected the most out of. I’d say that this E3 was an improvement over last year’s for Nintendo, but they still put on a disappointing presentation. Cammy whatsername took the stage once again and repeatedly used the line “Everyone’s Game”, a phrase that emphasizes the casual market of gamers. There were a few cool surprises towards the end, but I am going to have a hard time picking out 5 good things from the conference nonetheless. Well, here I go:

#5. Golden Sun DS

I remember wanting to buy Golden Sun on the GBA a long time ago because I thought it looked so cool. I never actually did buy the game, but an interest in the series has stayed with me ever since. Golden Sun DS looks to be an epic DS RPG with great graphics… and it’s not even a Final Fantasy remake!

#4. WarioWare: DIY

This game looks like it’s essentially a WarioWare level creator and sharing device. If it is true that you can even create the means that your microgame is accomplished, then this DSiWare game is very cool indeed.

#3. Super Mario Galaxy 2

The announcement and trailer of Super Mario Galaxy 2 was probably the standout moment in this press conference for most people, but I was not completely drooling at the mouth when news of this game surfaced. Yeah, it will probably be another “masterpiece” like the first one, but I haven’t actually played the first one real deeply, so I don’t have much to be excited about. Still… it’s good to have masterpieces on the Wii.

#2. Mario vs. Donkey Kong: The Minis March Again

People have been waiting for a worthwile DSiWare game; a reason to buy a DSi and a leg up over the iPhone. I believe that the announcement of Mario vs. Donkey Kong: The Minis March Again shows that Nintendo is taking a step in the right direction. The level sharing possibilities are huge, and it doesn’t hurt the game is coming out next Monday.

#1. Metroid: Other M

This may be my number one favorite moment of the press conference, but it didn’t get me anywhere near as amazed as I was at Microsoft’s Project Natal. Still, for the hardcore Nintendo fans, this was the kind of trailer they were waiting for. The fact that Team Ninja is involved in the development is perhaps most surprising of all… I wonder if Nintendo will make them hold back the maturity, or if Metroid: Other M will feature excessive open body gore and beach volleyball scenes.

By Josh60502

  1. June 3, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Yeah, that was my reaction. Team Ninja developing a new action game for the Wii, AND based on the Metroid franchise? You can count me in. I’m totally up for that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

