Home > Demo Impressions, Gaming, Playstation 3, Xbox 360 > “Zombie Apocalypse” Demo Impressions

“Zombie Apocalypse” Demo Impressions

zombie_apocalypse 2

Guns! Zombies! Violence! This is what video games are about!

There aren’t very many original ideas in Zombie Apocalypse, but that doesn’t stop this new XBLA game from being fun. Zombies, guns, and bloody violence abound in this culmination of popular video game trends. Imagine if you combined Smash TV with Left 4 Dead, and you’ll have a basic understanding of Zombie Apocalypse.

I’m not sure if there’s a story in this game, but if there is, I’m sure it’s something like “four survivors have banded together and must fight off waves of zombies together”… who cares about the rest? The one thing that doesn’t make sense to me though, is why the random people you can save during a level can be taken up into a helicopter and carried away while you for some reason can’t… apparently not too much thought was put into a storyline.

Up to four people can fight relentless hoards of zombies together (I’m assuming over Xbox Live, as well as locally), and that’s really all you need to know. Controls are standard twin-stick affair – one stick controls the player’s movement, and another controls the direction of their weapon. Pushing down the right trigger pulls out a chainsaw for some close combat, and the left trigger does the same thing; only that time the chainsaw is used for “execution” moves. Other weapons are slowly introduced over the course of the demo, with probably more being added to your arsenal over the course of the entire game. The weapons in the demo include the standard machine gun with infinite ammo, a shotgun, a flamethrower, and a minigun. A teddy bear that attracts zombies and explodes after a few seconds can also be used. The teddy reminds me quite a bit of the pipe bomb in Left 4 Dead and the monkey bomb in the most recent map pack of Call of Duty: World at War, but it’s still an interesting and useful item.

zombie_apocalypse 1

Oh dang…

The graphics are nice (about Shadow Complex quality), but in my demo playthrough I found that sometimes the zombies were a bit hard to spot due to their drab gray color blending in with the background of the level. I imagine that I would be able to get used to that and learn to spot the zombies quicker if I bought the full game.

But will I buy the full game? Probably not considering that it’s ten dollars. The four-player co-op seems cool, but I wasn’t able to test that out when I played the demo today. Even if it turned out as good as I think it would, I’m still not quite sold on Zombie Apocalypse. I’m a fan of fast-paced twin-stick shooter games, but Zombie Apocalypse doesn’t have any original qualities that stand out to me besides the detailed environments and impressive graphics (for a downloadable game, of course). If a Smash TV/Left 4 Dead mash-up sounds cool to you, I’d at least give the trial a shot, but I think the decision as to whether this is worth a ten dollar purchase is up to you. In my opinion, it gets a pass despite cool tried-and-true gameplay mechanics that some might still be into.

By Josh60502

  1. October 30, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and
    I in finding It really helpful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to present something again and aid others such as you aided
    me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

