Home > Music > Josh’s Top 10 Favorite Songs of 2009

Josh’s Top 10 Favorite Songs of 2009

I didn’t listen to as big of a variety of music this year as I did last year, but I still found plenty of gems that I’ll be listening to in 2010. For my top 10 list, I have two rules: the songs must have been released in 2009 and there can only be one song per artist. That said, take a look at my picks…

10. This Is It – Michael Jackson

The premature release of this song may have been a shameless attempt to capitalize on the buzz concerning Michael Jackson’s death, but that doesn’t stop it from being a surprisingly well-made and memorable tune from one of the most memorable entertainers who ever lived.

9. I’m on a Boat – The Lonely Island

Comedy music saw a comeback this year due mostly in part to The Lonely Island. This smart parody of rappers’ egos is best heard along with its music video.

8. New Divide – Linkin Park

Linkin Park is a band that has put out about an equal amount of crap songs and good songs, so it was nice to see that this single, commissioned for use in the Transformers sequel, was definitely one of the good ones.

7. Fireflies – Owl City

Listening to this song is kind of guilty pleasure for me, but there’s no denying that it was a much-needed dose of uniqueness shot into the arm of top 40 radio this year. It’s just so… happy…

6. (If You’re Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To – Weezer

This is the second year in a row that Weezer has made my top 10 list, and once you listen to this awkwardly named song, you’ll understand why. The great percussion section keeps the strong melody going strong throughout.

5. Second Chance – Shinedown

“Second Chance” has that grand, epic sound to it that usually only a band like The Who would provide. And let me tell you, there’s nothing wrong with more bands sounding like The Who.

4. Scumbag Blues – Them Crooked Vultures

This song sounds like a cross between something from the Foo Fighters and Led Zeppelin, which makes sense considering that this band is made up of ex-Foo Fighters and Led Zeppelin members. I haven’t fully listened to every song on Them Crooked Vultures’ debut album, but so far, “Scumbag Blues” is my favorite.

3. East Jesus Nowhere – Green Day

Green Day put out a great album this year, and if I didn’t have my “one song per artist” rule, this list would mostly be filled with songs by them. However, I had to narrow it down to my favorite, “East Jesus Nowhere”. I wholeheartedly disagree with the song’s anti-religion message, but I still enjoyed the punchy guitar playing that wouldn’t have sounded out of place on the “American Idiot” album, as well as the more alternative stuff (such as the voice filter and guitar riff introduced later in the song) prevalent on the rest of the “21st Century Breakdown” album that this song appears on. “East Jesus Nowhere” is really the best of the two albums’ sounds put together.

2. On My Way – Billy Boy on Poison

Most of the songs that are given away for free on iTunes every week are forgettable, but “On My Way” was not one of them. This great single from the band’s debut album has been stuck in my head ever since I heard it for the first time months ago.

1. Ignorance – Paramore

Paramore is a popular band that knows how to rock, and that’s frankly a rare thing these days. “Ignorance” is a song that comes from a whole album of great material, but the in-your-face guitars and equally brash vocals put this song at the top of my list. “Ignorance” easily stands among, if not topping, Paramore’s other best songs, “Misery Business” and “That’s What You Get”. A great song off a great album by a great band, this is the best I heard this year.

By Josh60502

Categories: Music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

