Home > Gaming, Halo, Reviews, Xbox 360 > Halo: Reach Opinions

Halo: Reach Opinions

Ah hey there, this would just so happen to be my first “official” post for the Frayed Wire blog.  My buddy Josh set me up so that I could give you some thoughts on Halo: Reach.

Without further ado:

In my quite honest opinion, Halo: Reach is going to be one hullava game. This is, considering I got my first perfection today!

When I first started the demo after downloading it, I had no idea what to expect.  The opening video made my mouth water.  When searching matchmaker, I found, to my complete dislike, that the servers were down!!  This left me rather upset considering I had specifically gone to do something else while it downloaded fully expecting to be able to play it right then on Monday the  3rd.  So when I noticed that the servers were down for some reason, I quickly raced to Bungie.net to see what the heck is going on.  I wasn’t surprised to see a post from Bungie about their servers being down from the massive horde that is their fan base.  So, I went on, for a few more hours without the Beta, until finally the servers were back online!

I couldn’t wait for my first game on the Beta.  I was playing with an old friend of mine who had told me the servers were back up, and so we went.  The first game was 1-Flag CTF, which is just a fancy way of saying Capture your enemy’s flag without having to worry about one of your own, unless you’re defending.  I figured a +2 on my Kills-deaths was pretty good for a first match.  I had to learn to crawl in the game, but I was soon running by the end, using the “stalker” class and going ninja on all of the Red team baddies.  So, we won which left me on a very good note to go ahead on my own to see how to best survive in this world where the best reign and the flag-whores die.

So far, the few things I dislike the most about Reach have already been addressed for the final release of it for the fall.  So I’m not in a bad mood about it, but I’ll give you what I think about nearly every element in Halo: Reach.

The DMR is a sucky replacement for the BR, but quite honestly, I like it much, much better. I’m so happy to have something close to the Halo: Combat Evolved pistol back!! The Assault rifle also sounds like a popcorn popper, but kicks more ass than its Halo 3 counterpart. I like that now the weapons have legit recoil, or visible recoil while aiming. SWAT is now much harder but twice as fun as spamming BR bursts across the map.

The Covie weapons, such as the Plasma repeater, I think, are much better balanced and tweaked than the Halo 3 ones. In Halo 3 no one wanted Covie weapons, save the plasma pistol for certain situations. The Needler may seem like it takes more needles, but it tracks better and has longer range than the sucky excuse for one in Halo 3. The two things wrong with the Covie weapons are that I WANT MY CARBINE BACK(!!!) and the plasma launcher which is beyond overpowered (however I do enjoy using it ;D).

As for the vehicles, the turrets now overheat and the warthog turret has been nerfed. For some reason, every other explosive weapon has an EMP. How do you put an EMP into a 40mm grenade? Not to mention the vehicles killed by only tactical nukes (Ahem, grenades). When tanks need less damage to be destroyed than the Warthog, you know something is up. When your land options fail, bring back the Banshee(!!), as it now has the fuel rod cannon re-added to it, but a good amount of maneuverability reduced, which isn’t that bad. Just watch out for the airborne enemies, they’ll be sort of like those frozen chickens the Mythbusters shot at a plane a while back (They’ll knock you right out of the sky).

The classes/abilities are fairly well done, except for the armor lock, which definitely needs some tweaking because it seems as though they have an overshield right after the lock wears off. Not to mention I disliked the map Sword Base until I got the hang of the jetpack, because it’s built around a single class which is a VERY bad thing. Now Bungie should start making, or tweak maps so that they’re not so one-sided to a single class/ability. My final concern with the classes is the ability to roll/sprint and immediately melee someone, similar to MW2 (which I dislike greatly) with people running around knifing everyone.

As for Invasion, the only thing that allows you to win as Elites is nothing but a good team and dumb luck.  If the defending team has any kind of wits about them, you’ll hardly get the core out of their base in enough time.  Most of the time they’ll all be launching grenades at you via the class that has that such weapon.  Invasion is currently the only map that has vehicles in the Beta for Halo: Reach.

Overall I just cannot wait until it comes out. Until then I’ll be sitting on my grab bag tea-bagging noobs.

Nuwbz (G.T. iSh0cKu)~ Over and out.

Categories: Gaming, Halo, Reviews, Xbox 360
  1. joewillbeatjohn
    May 21, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    That was a very interesting post to read. Thanks for taking the time to write it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

